Author Topic: Frame limiter in multiplayer  (Read 8037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tanner

  • VC:MP Beta Tester (inactive)
  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Frame limiter in multiplayer
« on: July 21, 2007, 05:21:33 pm »
Is that possible to turn frame limiter off and playing vice city multiplayer?

Juppi

  • Guest
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2007, 05:38:23 pm »
That is possible in 0.3z.

Offline Tanner

  • VC:MP Beta Tester (inactive)
  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2007, 07:15:08 pm »
Thanks Juppi, I didn't even check this out in the new beta version.

Juppi

  • Guest
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2007, 08:20:32 pm »
No problemo ;) I and my friend had some problems with frame limiter, too, so fixing it made things a lot easier.

Offline maxorator

  • VC:MP Developer
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2007, 06:35:31 pm »
It's kind of useless, because VC-MP sets it to on automatically, without you even seeing that it is set to on.

At least it is no problem if you play VC with frame limiter off and then play VC-MP with frame limiter still showing off though actually it is on.

Offline Tanner

  • VC:MP Beta Tester (inactive)
  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2007, 05:36:12 pm »
But sometimes when I play vc-mp and frame limiter is turned off o feel I play like this is turned on (I think it's just then if there's lots of cars...).

Offline Pluisje

  • Wiseguy
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Glitching is fun wheeee.
    • View Profile
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2007, 07:30:01 pm »
it happends to me the same when i join..

Offline GTA-Roloboy

  • Made Man
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2007, 01:33:47 pm »
I don't understand why people want it off..

When I turn it off my VC doesn't load anymore..
Everything bad :S

Juppi

  • Guest
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2007, 12:22:13 am »
Well, i dont know, it was commented that frame limiter wont cause problems in 0.3z anymore. Someone may want set frame limiter off if they have problems like this. Sometimes i can set it off without crash, but now in many servers (especially LW) it crashes almost all the time.

It was also said that it doesnt matter whether the frame limiter is on or off; well i dont agree that. I tested it with Fraps, and my pc get maximum 200 fps without frame limiter, and the usual 30 fps with fl on. That in VC:MP when i managed to join without crash, not in single player.

Offline maxorator

  • VC:MP Developer
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2007, 03:44:01 pm »
Frame limiter off makes the game kinda unfair. So I think I should patch it to be always on (VC:MP toggles it on only on startup atm).

Juppi

  • Guest
Re: Frame limiter in multiplayer
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2007, 04:19:25 pm »
In that case, i think it is necessary to do something to the case where game freezes while frame limiter is on (it does it to some video cards). Otherwise it may cause some players that they can't play the game at all.

Also LC:MP 0.3z has some problems with certain video cards (for example my game crashes at start, some other players have encountered similar problems). In 0.3x there were no such problems (at least not in VC:MP) so may it be possible that there is some bug regarding video card/driver compability in 0.3z code?