Author Topic: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn  (Read 9270 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thijn

  • LU testers
  • VC:MP Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 667
  • Im proud to be pro.
    • View Profile
    • Vice Underdogs
Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« on: February 25, 2010, 10:48:32 pm »
As i've helped alot of people on the scripting section here at the forums,
I though I would make a tutorial where i could link to when I get basic question like even starting it, config, cars, skins and such things.

The tutorial is 16 pages long (with 1 small credits page) so, Please take your time.

Tutorial can be found here

It would be the best if there were no mirrors, as i will update it once there is something missing // mistakes were made.

Also, Please report any mistakes or things you would like to be added.

Hope you learn something with it ;)

- Thijn
« Last Edit: February 25, 2010, 10:51:09 pm by thijn »

Offline Mitchel

  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2010, 11:49:49 pm »
nice tutorial, will be very useful for new users.

I found one mistake:

You wrote:

Code: [Select]
So our final /hello command will be:
if(strcmp("/hoi", cmdtext, true) == 0)

I think 'hoi' has to be replaced with 'hello' :D

Offline Gulk

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2010, 12:25:21 am »
nice one thijn

Offline thijn

  • LU testers
  • VC:MP Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 667
  • Im proud to be pro.
    • View Profile
    • Vice Underdogs
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2010, 12:30:42 am »
nice tutorial, will be very useful for new users.

I found one mistake:

You wrote:

Code: [Select]
So our final /hello command will be:
if(strcmp("/hoi", cmdtext, true) == 0)

I think 'hoi' has to be replaced with 'hello' :D
hehe ye indeed, I've replaced it ;) Download is in the same place.

Offline Ettans

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • Wiseguy
  • *
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2010, 11:53:00 am »
By the way, I noticed you have #define COLOR_RED 0xFF0000AA; in the tutorial, you don't need to end defines with a semi-colon. Other than that, nice job, must have taken a lot of time.  ;)

Offline [AoD]NC

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • VC:MP Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 616
  • AoD forever!
    • View Profile
    • KURWA MAĆ
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2010, 04:09:17 pm »
Thijn great <3

But anyway i will use it, when a new server patch will be released.

Btw: VC-MP car limit is 254?

Offline Ettans

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • Wiseguy
  • *
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2010, 05:26:58 pm »
Seems so, although it's not recommended to have over 180.

Offline thijn

  • LU testers
  • VC:MP Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 667
  • Im proud to be pro.
    • View Profile
    • Vice Underdogs
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2010, 06:23:34 pm »
By the way, I noticed you have #define COLOR_RED 0xFF0000AA; in the tutorial, you don't need to end defines with a semi-colon. Other than that, nice job, must have taken a lot of time.  ;)
Thanks for noticing that, I fixed it.

Btw: VC-MP car limit is 254?
Its defined in the include script, But indeed its the MAX so over 180 will be unstable too.

Offline [AoD]NC

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • VC:MP Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 616
  • AoD forever!
    • View Profile
    • KURWA MAĆ
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2010, 12:29:48 am »
Em...

"When you type a command /hello"

I thought its not possible to do / commands ;o

Offline maxorator

  • VC:MP Developer
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2010, 06:50:49 pm »
Its defined in the include script, But indeed its the MAX so over 180 will be unstable too.
Not sure why the include gives that amount, but the real maximum is 200.

Offline thijn

  • LU testers
  • VC:MP Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 667
  • Im proud to be pro.
    • View Profile
    • Vice Underdogs
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2010, 11:21:04 pm »
Its defined in the include script, But indeed its the MAX so over 180 will be unstable too.
Not sure why the include gives that amount, but the real maximum is 200.
Ah okies, Thanks for the info. Will edit it in my tut.

EDIT: Changed it in the tutorial, also changed the /hello typo. Download is at the same location again.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2010, 11:26:29 pm by thijn »

Offline BCKLUP

  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2010, 12:09:06 pm »
Could it really work as a command with a "/" prefix instead of a "/c" or "!"?
btw, Good job but next time tell them something difficult like "strtok" commands(commands with parameters like "/c ban <playerid>")
« Last Edit: March 14, 2010, 12:12:58 pm by BCKLUP »

Offline thijn

  • LU testers
  • VC:MP Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 667
  • Im proud to be pro.
    • View Profile
    • Vice Underdogs
Re: Setting up a R2 Server made with Pawn
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2010, 01:43:53 pm »
Could it really work as a command with a "/" prefix instead of a "/c" or "!"?
Nope, Thats not possible it was a typo