Author Topic: [Split] Is VC:MP dead?  (Read 62059 times)

Offline Glock22

• Wiseguy
    • View Profile
[Split] Is VC:MP dead?
« on: March 28, 2013, 01:50:54 pm »
@Glock22: I started learning it shortly after Vrocker's VCMP Squirrel Server was released. There weren't any sample scripts around like now, so I had to dig the VC Squirrel Wiki and the official squirrel documentation (this was more boring). But I liked it, because the code syntax was very friendly ;D.

Offtopic: Totally agree, Squirrel is very nice and easy language to learn, it took too long for me to learn pawn but it took too less time for me to just realize how squirrel works and learned it.

Ontopic: So that means this is the end for vcmp at 0.3z r2? Maxorator ain't coming back, New developers are not available, so what do you see the future of vcmp? of course Death at 0.3z_R2 IF! maxo don't come back
Yep it looks like VCMP development is more or less over. Maybe the huge servers like ArgonathRPG will stick around for a while and then VCMP will probably be over.

Offline sseebbyy

• VC:MP Veteran
  • Immortal VC:MP Player
    • View Profile
    • Zombie Invasion => Server Forum [DEAD PROJECT]
Re: [Split] Is VC:MP dead?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 08:10:54 pm »
Offtopic: Totally agree, Squirrel is very nice and easy language to learn, it took too long for me to learn pawn but it took too less time for me to just realize how squirrel works and learned it.

Pawn was your first scripting language, so thats why you learnt it so long.
I think that if you could learn Squirrel first, it could took you the same time spent for Pawn. ('cause maybe you didn't have any contact with a scripting language, and the pawn language is something like an easy C++)

ONTOPIC: I feared that this discussion will take place...
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 08:13:01 pm by sseebbyy »