Author Topic: Server vulnerable?  (Read 16774 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Trix5

  • Guest
Server vulnerable?
« on: June 30, 2007, 12:48:11 am »
Hi there. I have a big problem. Yesterday 3 guys came in to my server, and they cheated alot. So I tried to ban them, but they where unknown to the server. So I looked in the vcmp.getip.ini and all of the players that had cheeted where unknown in that list. So now I wonder, is there anything I can do to stop Unknown players from joining my server? I have vc:mp v0.3x server/client.

Edit: I also use General Use Scripts 7.0 REDONE

//Trix5
« Last Edit: June 30, 2007, 12:54:22 am by Trix5 »

Offline Tanner

  • VC:MP Beta Tester (inactive)
  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007, 01:48:59 am »
Did you create command !ban ? If you didn't type !ban won't work. At first write script for the !ban command.

Trix5

  • Guest
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2007, 01:58:45 am »
Yes I tried !ban <player id> and !ban <player name>. But the server said "Unknown command, player or id dont exist" They even said I had a loophole in my server. I dont know what to do. I dont want to shut down my server everytime they join. And I know that command work, I banned 1 person before they joined.

Offline Gulk

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2007, 03:02:59 am »
Tommis should know how to help you,
Strange, i can ban people with that script.
Did you try "!ban <nick> <reason>. or "!ip <name>". and add it the the banlist ini.
 ???
« Last Edit: June 30, 2007, 03:13:59 am by Gulk »

Offline bakasan

  • VC:MP Developer
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2007, 05:35:14 am »
in 0.3x, to ban someone without irc scripts, you must do these steps:

1) login as admin (use /admin <serverpasswordhere> to login) - this will tell you "Logged in as admin.", if you logged in correctly

2) /getip <player id> - this reports the players ip address

3) /ban <player ip address>

4) /kick <player id>


it is alot of steps in this version, it will become easier in future releases tho


hope that helps
« Last Edit: July 01, 2007, 03:34:51 am by bakasan »

Trix5

  • Guest
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2007, 08:44:12 pm »
in 0.3x, to ban someone without irc scripts, you must do these steps:

1) login as admin (use /admin <serverpasswordhere> to login) - this will tell you "Loggen in as admin.", if you logged in correctly

2) /getip <player id> - this reports the players ip address

3) /ban <player ip address>

4) /kick <player id>


it is alot of steps in this version, it will become easier in future releases tho


hope that helps

Well I tried that, and it did not work.  :(  The problem is that all the cheaters is unknown to the server. So I was thinking if there is some kind of script that will block people that are Unknown to server from joining the game? Thanks for trying to solve my problem.  :)

Offline Gulk

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2007, 08:53:12 pm »
Take a screenshot "F8" and show me the problem, very weird.

Offline VercettiG

  • VC:MP Beta Tester (inactive)
  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2007, 09:32:06 pm »
I think we've encountered this problem too at Littlewhitey's. It can't track their IP address, for some reason.

Trix5

  • Guest
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2007, 09:36:54 pm »
I think we've encountered this problem too at Littlewhitey's. It can't track their IP address, for some reason.

Yes, that is the problem. Their ip and username is unknown to server, and that is why i cant ban them.

Well, here is a screenshot of the vcmp.getip.ini

http://img125.imageshack.us/img125/6205/vcmptq9.gif
« Last Edit: June 30, 2007, 11:03:15 pm by Trix5 »

Offline maxorator

  • VC:MP Developer
  • Made Man
  • *
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2007, 11:43:27 pm »
This is VERY strange, because a computer cannot connect anywhere without providing the correct IP (otherwise the server cannot send any data back). There is one way to hide the IP from some systems, but it is impossible to do on WinXP without special drivers and it leaves a trace.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2007, 12:52:46 am by bakasan »

Offline adamale

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • Wiseguy
  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • GTAM.info
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2007, 09:18:34 pm »
What do you think about a command like (based on Tommis' GUS 9.0):

on *:SIGNAL:vcmp.join:{

...

if ($vcmp.ip($vcmp.name(%a)) == 255.255.255.2555) vcmp.kick %a

}

255.255.255.255 = unknown afaik.


Juppi

  • Guest
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2007, 09:26:54 pm »
The command is fine, but i think that instead of IP 255.255.255.255 there should be Unknown, because i think Tommis' GUS saves unknown IP's as player name=Unknown (thats what i remember, someone/Tommis himself can correct me if i'm wrong)

EDIT: ok i misunderstood, so i think there could be IP 255.255.255.255 BUT if that doesnt work, the script saves the players ip to vcmp.getip.ini so you could use also

Code: [Select]
if ($vcmp.getip($vcmp.name(%a)) == Unknown) vcmp.kick %a
« Last Edit: July 22, 2007, 09:29:42 pm by Juppi »

Offline matthiasvegh

  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • =RA=Phil_Cassidy
    • View Profile
    • InternetDJ
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2007, 04:28:59 pm »
aah. well, i have the same sort of problem, from the other side. im a user, and if i connect to my own/lw server, im unknown everywhere. however, vcmp identifies my ip, its just the script that doesnt like me.i was trying to login as admin (!set admin). no hope. i wondered, if its my name that irc does not like (=RA=Phil_Cassidy) i changed it, removed set=1 out of vcmp.ini, and connected, still unknown. same on lw, only without the admin stuff

Offline adamale

  • VC:MP Beta Tester
  • Wiseguy
  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • GTAM.info
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2007, 05:53:15 pm »
I think there is a bug with ID 0... . When you joined server as a first (ID 0) you can't use a lot of commands (such as teleporting and other).

Offline matthiasvegh

  • Street Thug
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • =RA=Phil_Cassidy
    • View Profile
    • InternetDJ
Re: Server vulnerable?
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2007, 08:12:12 pm »
ye.. i asked u this on gtaf, u said the same, the prob is, if u would read my post, is it happens on any server. (and as a note, i never said im player 0. i usually go testing with mates => i am rarely the first, as i keep yelling on msn for them to join.)