Vice City Multiplayer

General Discussion => Support => Topic started by: Trix5 on June 30, 2007, 12:48:11 am

Title: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Trix5 on June 30, 2007, 12:48:11 am
Hi there. I have a big problem. Yesterday 3 guys came in to my server, and they cheated alot. So I tried to ban them, but they where unknown to the server. So I looked in the vcmp.getip.ini and all of the players that had cheeted where unknown in that list. So now I wonder, is there anything I can do to stop Unknown players from joining my server? I have vc:mp v0.3x server/client.

Edit: I also use General Use Scripts 7.0 REDONE

//Trix5
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Tanner on June 30, 2007, 01:48:59 am
Did you create command !ban ? If you didn't type !ban won't work. At first write script for the !ban command.
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Trix5 on June 30, 2007, 01:58:45 am
Yes I tried !ban <player id> and !ban <player name>. But the server said "Unknown command, player or id dont exist" They even said I had a loophole in my server. I dont know what to do. I dont want to shut down my server everytime they join. And I know that command work, I banned 1 person before they joined.
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Gulk on June 30, 2007, 03:02:59 am
Tommis should know how to help you,
Strange, i can ban people with that script.
Did you try "!ban <nick> <reason>. or "!ip <name>". and add it the the banlist ini.
 ???
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: bakasan on June 30, 2007, 05:35:14 am
in 0.3x, to ban someone without irc scripts, you must do these steps:

1) login as admin (use /admin <serverpasswordhere> to login) - this will tell you "Logged in as admin.", if you logged in correctly

2) /getip <player id> - this reports the players ip address

3) /ban <player ip address>

4) /kick <player id>


it is alot of steps in this version, it will become easier in future releases tho


hope that helps
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Trix5 on June 30, 2007, 08:44:12 pm
in 0.3x, to ban someone without irc scripts, you must do these steps:

1) login as admin (use /admin <serverpasswordhere> to login) - this will tell you "Loggen in as admin.", if you logged in correctly

2) /getip <player id> - this reports the players ip address

3) /ban <player ip address>

4) /kick <player id>


it is alot of steps in this version, it will become easier in future releases tho


hope that helps

Well I tried that, and it did not work.  :(  The problem is that all the cheaters is unknown to the server. So I was thinking if there is some kind of script that will block people that are Unknown to server from joining the game? Thanks for trying to solve my problem.  :)
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Gulk on June 30, 2007, 08:53:12 pm
Take a screenshot "F8" and show me the problem, very weird.
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: VercettiG on June 30, 2007, 09:32:06 pm
I think we've encountered this problem too at Littlewhitey's. It can't track their IP address, for some reason.
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Trix5 on June 30, 2007, 09:36:54 pm
I think we've encountered this problem too at Littlewhitey's. It can't track their IP address, for some reason.

Yes, that is the problem. Their ip and username is unknown to server, and that is why i cant ban them.

Well, here is a screenshot of the vcmp.getip.ini

http://img125.imageshack.us/img125/6205/vcmptq9.gif (http://img125.imageshack.us/img125/6205/vcmptq9.gif)
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: maxorator on July 14, 2007, 11:43:27 pm
This is VERY strange, because a computer cannot connect anywhere without providing the correct IP (otherwise the server cannot send any data back). There is one way to hide the IP from some systems, but it is impossible to do on WinXP without special drivers and it leaves a trace.
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: adamale on July 22, 2007, 09:18:34 pm
What do you think about a command like (based on Tommis' GUS 9.0):

on *:SIGNAL:vcmp.join:{

...

if ($vcmp.ip($vcmp.name(%a)) == 255.255.255.2555) vcmp.kick %a

}

255.255.255.255 = unknown afaik.

Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Juppi on July 22, 2007, 09:26:54 pm
The command is fine, but i think that instead of IP 255.255.255.255 there should be Unknown, because i think Tommis' GUS saves unknown IP's as player name=Unknown (thats what i remember, someone/Tommis himself can correct me if i'm wrong)

EDIT: ok i misunderstood, so i think there could be IP 255.255.255.255 BUT if that doesnt work, the script saves the players ip to vcmp.getip.ini so you could use also

Code: [Select]
if ($vcmp.getip($vcmp.name(%a)) == Unknown) vcmp.kick %a
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: matthiasvegh on July 23, 2007, 04:28:59 pm
aah. well, i have the same sort of problem, from the other side. im a user, and if i connect to my own/lw server, im unknown everywhere. however, vcmp identifies my ip, its just the script that doesnt like me.i was trying to login as admin (!set admin). no hope. i wondered, if its my name that irc does not like (=RA=Phil_Cassidy) i changed it, removed set=1 out of vcmp.ini, and connected, still unknown. same on lw, only without the admin stuff
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: adamale on July 23, 2007, 05:53:15 pm
I think there is a bug with ID 0... . When you joined server as a first (ID 0) you can't use a lot of commands (such as teleporting and other).
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: matthiasvegh on July 23, 2007, 08:12:12 pm
ye.. i asked u this on gtaf, u said the same, the prob is, if u would read my post, is it happens on any server. (and as a note, i never said im player 0. i usually go testing with mates => i am rarely the first, as i keep yelling on msn for them to join.)
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: Tommis on July 24, 2007, 02:08:51 am
Hello,

Alright, well first of all, in the 0.3x scripts, it could be a bug with the scripts if you leave it on for a very very long period of time, so try restarting teh scripts. (In 0.3z the whole player system is redone, so this is not a issue in thoes scripts) But if you say the whole server does not recognize thier ips, then i cant really help you there, you need to talk to the dev's about that. Also about the script, you can add this under vcmp.join.

  if ($vcmp.ip(%name) == Unknown) || (*.*.*.* !iswm $vcmp.ip(%name)) {
    vcmp.say Kicking %name - Reason: Invalid IP Address $+ , By: Server
    .timer 1 1 vcmp.kick %id
  }

Cya,
Tommis
Title: Re: Server vulnerable?
Post by: matthiasvegh on July 24, 2007, 03:33:27 pm
not bad, not bad, but this would kick me! >:(  so er.. i'm screwed.